Weapons Charges – Possession of Assault Weapons and Assault Rifles
Weapons, including assault weapons and assault rifles, are strictly governed by the State of California. The laws prevent manufacture, sale, or possession of any assault weapons or assault rifles, although there are specific circumstances where this is allowed. Possessing an assault weapon in California requires a specific permit.
Assault weapons, as defined by the California Attorney General:
“highly dangerous offensive weapons which are unambiguously hazardous… They are the same type that soldiers typically use when fighting in wars.”
Penalty for Assault Weapon Charges
Weapons charges for assault weapons can be either a misdemeanor or felony. If it is a misdemeanor, you can face up to 1 year in jail and a $1,000 fine. For a felony charge, you face 16 months to 3 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000.
Possessing an assault weapon while committing another crime will add to the total length of your sentence.
Hammerschmidt Broughton Law Corporation are the only attorneys in Fresno County listed in the United States Concealed Carry Association and are the recommended attorney for Fresno County.